# SCRUTINY AND REGULATORY COMMITTEES AND LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE C PLUS COUNCIL COMMITTEES (AUDIT AND STANDARDS)

#### POLICY & RESOURCES SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	M A Flewitt (Chairman) D A Garston (Vice-Chairman) T K Byford B C Arscott J L Lamb A E Holland J M Garston	8	All
IND	C W Walker  B Ayling  D G Kenyon	3	All non Executive Councillors
LAB	M Stafford M L Borton J McMahon C J Nevin	3	All non Executive Councillors
LD	A Crystall	1	All non Executive Councillors
SIG	L Davies	1	All non Executive Councillors
UKIP	F Waterworth	1	D C McGlone

#### PEOPLE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 17+7	Substitutes
CON	L P Salter (Chairman) R E Hadley (Vice-Chairman) M Butler M W Davidson N J Folkard I T Robertson S Buckley	7	All
IND	C J Endersby M Assenheim M Stafford B Ayling	4	All non Executive Councillors
LAB	K R Robinson M L Borton C J Nevin	3	All non Executive Councillors
LD	M A Betson	1	All non Executive Councillors
SIG	L Davies	1	All non Executive Councillors
UKIP	D C McGlone	1	F Waterworth
	Co-opted Members:  Church of England Diocese – VACANCY (Voting on Education matters only)  Roman Catholic Diocese – Mr Vincent Copeland (Voting on Education matters only)  Parent Governors – (i) Mr Mark Rickett (Voting on Education matters only)	7	

(ii) VACANT (Voting on Education matters only)	
SAVS – Alison Semmence (Non- Voting)	
Healthwatch Southend – John Cooke (in post from 26 <sup>th</sup> May) (Non-Voting)	
Southend Carers Forum – Angelina Clarke (substitute - Mark Gillett)	
(Non-Voting)	2
Observers: Youth Council (i) James Aris (Non-voting)	
(ii) Isreal Genius (Non-Voting) (Substitute: VACANT)	

## PLACE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	S J Habermel (Chairman)	7	All
	M F Evans (Vice-Chairman)		
	J I Courtenay		
	D J Jarvis		
	J M Garston		
	G A F Phillips		
	T Cox		
IND	D G Kenyon	4	All non Executive Councillors
	S T Aylen		
	M Assenheim		
	N D Ward		
LAB	C A Willis	3	All non Executive Councillors
	J G S Ware-Lane		
	J McMahon		
LD	C A Mulroney	2	All non Executive Councillors
	A Crystall		
SIG	T Callaghan	1	Davies

# APPEALS COMMITTEE (A) (No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total	Substitutes
		7	
CON	D A Garston	3	All
	S Buckley		
	I T Robertson		
IND	B Ayling (Chairman)	1	All non Executive Councillors
LAB	M L Borton (Vice-Chairman)	1	All non Executive Councillors
LD	A Crystall	1	All non Executive Councillors
SIG	T Callaghan	1	Davies

#### **APPEALS COMMITTEE (B)**

(No Executive Councillors)

Party	Members	Total 7	Substitutes
CON	R E Hadley	3	All
	D J Jarvis		
	C W Walker		
IND	M Stafford (Chairman)	2	All non Executive Councillors
	D G Kenyon		
LAB	C J Nevin	1	All non Executive Councillors
UKIP	F Waterworth	1	D C McGlone

#### THE APPOINTMENTS AND DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE

(\*Note: When agenda includes appointment of, or disciplinary action against, the Head of Paid Service, Corporate Director or Head of Service, the relevant Executive Councillor should be a Member of the Committee.)

#### NOTE: The maximum number of Cabinet Members is 3

Party	Members	Total 7	Substitutes
CON	J L Lamb A E Holland L P Salter	3	All
IND	R A Woodley M Assenheim	2	All
LAB	I D Gilbert	1	All
LD	G E Longley	1	All

#### **DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE**

Party	Members	Total 17	Substitutes
CON	C W Walker	7	All
	M F Evans		
	D A Garston		
	R E Hadley		
	M Butler		
	T K Byford		
	N J Folkard		
IND	P R Van Looy	4	All
	N D Ward		
	B Ayling		
	M Assenheim (Vice-Chairman)		
LAB	M L Borton	3	All
	K R Robinson		
	J McMahon		
LD	A Crystall (Chairman)	1	All
SIG	T Callaghan	1	All
UKIP	D C McGlone	1	F Waterworth

#### **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE**

Party	Members	Total 9	Substitutes
CON	A E Holland C W Walker J I Courtenay S Buckley	4	All
IND	D G Kenyon (Vice-Chairman) C J Endersby	2	All
LAB	K R Robinson (Chairman) C A Willis	2	All
SIG	T Callaghan	1	All

#### LICENSING COMMITTEE

Party	Members	Total 15	Substitutes
CON	R E Hadley	7	All
	D J Jarvis		
	S Buckley		
	I T Robertson		
	T K Byford		
	M Butler		
	G A F Phillips		
IND	B Ayling	2	All
	D G Kenyon		
LAB	J McMahon (Chairman)	3	All
	M L Borton		
	C A Willis		
LD	C A Mulroney (Vice-Chairman)	1	All
SIG	L Davies	1	All
UKIP	D C McGlone	1	F Waterworth

## LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEES A AND B

To be drawn from the *Members of* Licensing Committee as required

#### LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE C

Party	Members	Total 8	Substitutes
CON	R E Hadley	3	All
	I T Robertson		
	G A F Phillips		
IND	N D Ward	2	All
	D G Kenyon		
LAB	J McMahon (Chairman)	1	All
LD	C A Mulroney (Vice-Chairman)	1	All
SIG	L Davies	1	All

Note: Licensing Sub-Committee C to be proportional – but it is not reflected in the overall proportionality calculation for committees

#### **COUNCIL COMMITTEES**

#### AUDIT COMMITTEE

(To include not more than one Executive Councillor, but not the Leader. The Chairman should not be the Executive Councillor.)

Party	Members	Total 9	Substitutes
CON	J I Courtenay	4	All
	I T Robertson		
	S Buckley		
	M W Davidson		
IND	B Ayling	2	All
	M Stafford		
LAB	J McMahon (Vice-Chairman)	2	All
	C J Nevin		
LD	M A Betson (Chairman)	1	All
	Mr R Everitt		
	Co-Opted Member		

#### **STANDARDS COMMITTEE**

Party	Members	Total 9+4	Substitutes
CON	M F Evans	4	All
	B C Arscott		
	M A Flewitt		
	D J Jarvis		
IND	M Assenheim	2	All
	N D Ward		
LAB	K R Robinson (Chairman)	1	All
LD	A Crystall	1	All
SIG	T Callaghan	1	All
	Leigh-on-Sea Town Council	2	
	nominees:		
	Independent members in place for 1 year:	2	

NB: Standards Committees complies with the requirements of the LOCALISM ACT 2011.

#### **HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD**

(The Chairman shall be the Leader or such other Executive Councillor as he shall appoint)

(Note: The Membership should include the Executive Councillor with the responsibility for Health. Members of the People Scrutiny Committee / the Scrutiny Committee with the responsibility for Health Scrutiny should <u>not</u> be appointed to the Board)

Party	Members	Total 6	Substitutes
CON	J L Lamb	2	All (except members of the
	M F Evans		People Scrutiny Committee)
IND	M Velmurugan	1	All (except members of the
			People Scrutiny Committee)
LAB	C A Willis	1	All (except members of the
			People Scrutiny Committee)
LD	G E Longley	1	All (except members of the
			People Scrutiny Committee)
SIG	Moyies (Chairman)	1	Callaghan

#### **JOINT HEALTH OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE**

(With Essex and Thurrock to review proposed changes to the provision of specialised urological cancer surgery).

Note: Members appointed should be Members of People Scrutiny Committee / the Scrutiny Committee with responsibility for health scrutiny.

Party	Members	Total 2	Substitutes
LD	M Betson	1	
SIG	L Davies	1	
			C J Nevin